What Have I Been Working On? – January 2014

1508580_368459426628252_488716104_n

Hey all, it’s the end of January and I wanted to show you what kind of productive things I did with my month. Not everything I made the list, but here’s a good overview of my month when it game to writing about geeky type things and making stuff.

Jan 1st: Summing up 2013 https://laurakbuzz.wordpress.com/2014/01/01/lauras-2013-in-html-links/

Jan 1st: Song a Day with Jonathan Mann (Me and Tilley) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rTZSovFwt4Q

Jan 2nd: Laura’s Top 10 Most Anticipated Indie Games of 2014 http://indiehaven.com/lauras-top-10-most-anticipated-indie-games-of-2014/

Jan 3rd: Little Inferno Livestream

Jan 3rd: Wrote The Walking Dead Season Two Episode One Review Draft

Jan 4th: Indie of the Week Mattie Brice http://indiehaven.com/indie-of-the-week-mattie-brice/

Jan 5th: Podcast Recording with Byron Atkinson Jones

Jan 5th: Runner up in an FPS design comp http://indiegameschool.com.au/?p=200

Jan 5th: Nominated for a Geek Feminism Award http://womenwriteaboutcomics.com/2014/01/04/awesome-comics-awards-day-two/

Jan 6th: The Indie Haven Podcast – Episode 28 – Byron Atkinson Jones Edited

Jan 6th: The Indie Haven Podcast – Episode 28 – Byron Atkinson Jones Published http://indiehaven.com/the-indie-haven-podcast-episode-28-special-guest-byron-atkinson-jones/

Jan 6th: As one person dropped out I won a space on that FPS design course from a few days ago.

Jan 7th: The New Statesman wrote an article on my Bechdel Test tweets http://www.newstatesman.com/culture/2014/01/do-videogames-need-their-own-version-bechdel-test

Jan 7th: So did Godiva Gamers http://godivagamers.com/home/2014/1/7/what-would-be-an-equivalent-of-the-bechdel-test-for-games

Jan 7th: I thought I should probably write something on the topic too https://laurakbuzz.wordpress.com/2014/01/07/the-gaming-bechdel-test/

Jan 8th: Review: The Walking Dead – Season Two Episode One http://indiehaven.com/review-the-walking-dead-season-two-episode-one/

Jan 9th: Wrote my Better Than Bechdel post https://laurakbuzz.wordpress.com/2014/01/09/better-than-bechdel/

Jan 9th: Someone responded and critiqued their game http://whineaboutgames.blogspot.co.uk/2014/01/better-than-bechdel.html

Jan 10th: Cited on The WM Weekly http://paper.li/west_m

Jan 10th: Drafted Why Vena’s Transgender Dev Blog

Jan 10th: Cleaned up the draft of the Gender in TV piece and prepared it to post.

Jan 11th: Posted Gender in TV https://laurakbuzz.wordpress.com/2014/01/11/guest-post-jenn-stille-gays-anatomy-a-look-at-lgbtq-characters-in-television/

Jan 11th: Dev Blog: Why You Are The Reason has a Transgender Protagonist http://indiehaven.com/dev-blog-why-you-are-the-reason-has-a-transgender-protagonist/

Jan 12th: Recorded The Indie Haven Podcast with Josh Larson

Jan 12th: Set up a Patreon http://www.patreon.com/user?u=69477

Jan 13th: The Indie haven Podcast – Episode 29 (Special Guest Josh Larson) http://indiehaven.com/the-indie-haven-podcast-episode-29-special-guest-josh-larson/

Jan 13th: Deep Silver and Sexism/Women https://laurakbuzz.wordpress.com/2014/01/13/deep-silver-sexism-and-women/

Jan 13th: Was referenced in Gaming Equality and You http://pwgaming.co.uk/wp_test/opinion-gender-equality-you-in-gaming

Jan 14th: Played Broken Age for review

Jan 15th: Broken Age Review Draft Written

Jan 15th: Broken Age Act 1 : Review http://indiehaven.com/broken-age-act-1-review/

Jan 18th: Panel Videos from Loading are online http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLclMThNhTBx_SJuRb5o9GHPofnKlLvM4X

Jan 19th: Recorded The Indie Haven Podcast with Greg Rice

Jan 19th: Linked to a Venture Beat article that mentions me http://venturebeat.com/2013/10/19/four-ways-trans-people-are-changing-the-gendertech-debate/

Jan 19th: Referenced on someone’s Paper.li page http://paper.li/OriginalKazila/1320768610

Jan 20th: Livestreamed Nidhogg

Jan 20th: Panel Videos Article Posted http://indiehaven.com/indie-haven-mmm-panel-archive-loading-bar-december-2013/

Jan 20th: The Indie Haven Podcast – Episode 30 (Special Guest Greg Rice) http://indiehaven.com/the-indie-haven-podcast-episode-30-special-guest-greg-rice-double-fine/

Jan 21st: Recorded 15 mins of audio for the Fangamer Podcast

Jan 21st: Tweeted about an article idea RE: MMOs and Exploring Gender Identity. Keith Stuart messaged me suggesting it may run in The Guardian. Started writing it.

Jan 21st: Invited to podcast with Alex and Sharron Shaw at a future date.

Jan 22nd: Finished and submitted draft of MMOs and Gender Expression article to Keith Stuart. Did minor edits. Agreed on a Fri or Mon publishing date.

Jan 23rd: Published on The Guardian – How World of Warcraft Helped me Come out as Transgender http://www.theguardian.com/technology/gamesblog/2014/jan/23/how-world-of-warcraft-game-helped-me-come-out-transgender

Jan 24th: A quote I gave James Moorehead was used in his article on Sports Games and Women http://pwgaming.co.uk/football-games-womens-football

Jan 26th: Recorded The Indie Haven Podcast with Nicoll Hunt

Jan 27th: The Indie Haven Podcast – Episode 31 (Special Guest Nicoll Hunt – Fist of Awesome) http://indiehaven.com/the-indie-haven-podcast-episode-31-special-guest-nicoll-hunt-fist-of-awesome/

Jan 28th: Recorded song for Jan 31st Collab

Jan 28th: Wrote and submitted Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z Review for MYM Magazine

Jan 28th: Was invited to be a part of this documentary http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=tsUslXjnraY

Jan 28th: Did a Pre Interview for the TV show Open Source on the Fusion channel.

Jan 28th: Pitched another article for The Guardian

Jan 29th: Attended The Develop Quiz, came 3rd, missed 1st by 1 point.

Jan 30th: 2AM- 3:30AM Recorded Open Source discussing Gender in WoW for the American TV channel Fusion. It aired live, I Skyped in.

Jan 30th: Trans Primer http://fusion.net/Culture/video/primer-trans-vocabulary-416285

Jan 30th: Trans and WoW TV Appearance http://fusion.net/Culture/video/gender-identity-exploration-video-games-416317

Jan 30th: Contributed to an article by Nick Duffy http://www.pinknews.co.uk/2014/01/30/study-60-of-trans-people-refused-medical-care-attempt-suicide/

Jan 31st: Published song with Jonathan Mann  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Me3a4kz7C4